Understanding our environment
  • Home
  • KU Ecology Seminars: Spring 2019

KU Ecology Seminars: Spring 2019

Kansas Biological Survey ecology seminars are held on Fridays at 12:15 p.m. in 130 Higuchi Hall on west campus at 2101 Constant Avenue. Feel free to bring a lunch (microwave oven available).

Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (EEB) seminars are held on Tuesdays at 3:45 p.m. (refreshments at 3:30) in 1005 Haworth Hall on main campus. Seminar titles are available approximately one week prior to scheduled times on the department's online calendar

Quantitative Lunch is held Wednesdays at 12:15 p.m. in 130 Higuchi Hall. This group discusses current research that has a mathematical, statistical, or computational approach to a biological topic. Bring a lunch.

Seminars for the Spring 2019 semester

Friday, February 1 – Jacob Hopkins, KBS and EEB, KU

Tuesday, February 5 – Scott Mangan, Washington University, St. Louis (EEB seminar, 1005 Haworth, refreshments at 3:30 p.m., talk at 3:45  (note unusual day, time, and location)

Friday, February 8 – Aleah Henderson, EEB, KU

Friday, February 15 – Emma Hauser (KU Field Station award recipient), Rena Stair (KU Field Station award recipient)

Friday, February 22 –  Bonnie McGill, KBS, KU and Madison Foster, KBS, KU

Friday, March 1 – Morgan Okeson, Geography and Atmospheric Science (KU Field Station award recipient)

 (No talk on March 8: Friday before Spring Break)

Friday, March 22 – Amy Hansen. Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering, KU

Thursday March 28 and Friday, March 29 John Vandermeer, University of Michigan (Armitage Distinguished Ecologist Seminar: Thursday afternoon talk at Haworth, and Friday talk at the KU Field Station)

Friday, April 5 Ligia Souza (KU Field Station award recipient); Soudeh Ghasemian (KU Field Station award recipient)

Friday, April 12  Admin Husic, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering, KU

Friday, April 19 Jerry Denoyelles, KBS and EEB, KU

Friday, April 26 Michelle Kelly, KBS and EEB, KU

Friday, May 3 – Bala Chaudhary, DePaul University

Bus and parking options for Higuchi Hall (Kansas Biological Survey)
 
  • KU visitors from main campus can take the KU Park & Ride bus from main campus for free, which drops them off right next to Higuchi Hall. That bus runs every five minutes during the semester.         
  • There are yellow, red and blue lots surrounding Higuchi Hall.         
  • For non-KU visitors, there are some metered spaces in front of the Higuchi Biosciences Center, next door, and a few on the very south line of parking stalls in the Park & Ride lot. Bring change for the meters.

Follow the Kansas Biological Survey and KU Field Station
Facebook  Twitter
Events